Restore points for System Restore can be both automatically and manually created. If not checked, it might use more storage space than you're comfortable with over time.
You can then delete the restore points or set the disk space that System Restore can use for the restore points. The storage limit for System Restore is set as the percentage of the total space of your disk drive.
Comment anonymously. Login not required.