Changing the system language on Ubuntu can be helpful for users who prefer to operate in their native language or when setting up a device for someone from a different linguistic background. This ensures that all system menus, applications, and interfaces are displayed in the desired language, offering a seamless and more personalized experience.

Most Ubuntu installations come with English as the default language. However, the operating system supports numerous languages which can be easily installed and activated. After setting a new language, you can expect the changes to be reflected in various areas like the login screen, desktop environment, and application menus.

To switch your system language on Ubuntu, follow the comprehensive steps below. Ensure that you have administrative rights on the system to modify language settings.

Steps to change system language on Ubuntu:

  1. Navigate to the system's main menu or dash.
  2. Open the Settings application.
  3. From the left sidebar, select the Region & Language option.
  4. Under the Language section, click on the current language or the + button.
  5. A list of available languages will be displayed. Scroll through or search to find your desired language.
  6. Click on the desired language to select it. If the language pack is not already installed, Ubuntu might prompt you to install it.
  7. Confirm and proceed with the installation. Once completed, the new language will be added to the list.
  8. Drag the new language to the top of the list to set it as the default system language.
  9. Restart your computer for the changes to take full effect.
  10. After rebooting, you should see the login screen, system menus, and applications in the new language.

Note: Some applications might have their own language settings which need to be changed individually if they don't automatically adapt to the system language.

Discuss the article:

Comment anonymously. Login not required.